Tips on painting and repairs from the customizers

Post your work! We want to see your TF fanfics, fan art, webcomics, custom toys, and your home-grown toy repairs here.

Moderator: Blackjack

Sunstorm
Nuclear Nemesis

Tips on painting and repairs from the customizers

Post by Sunstorm »

***Admin's note: These posts were taken from when all of our customizers shared one thread, instead of each having their own thread to showcase their works. Some references to the work of others have been left, as the congratulations were still sincere at the time, but this database was more helpful combined into its own thread, than separated into dozens of others***

nice work Kup! :D

I'm a beginner in the customising stakes.... which spray paints did you use? I'm still struggling to find something that gives me a nice even finish :?
Dinobot
Warrior With No Equal

Post by Dinobot »

Spray model paints work well then I add some spray clear coating to finish it off. Thats how I do my alternators.
R.I.P. Menasor
Deszaras
Lieutenant Commander

Post by Deszaras »

I had to repaint the entirity of my G1 overkill and i used Games workshop paints and some spray varnish. (but GW paints are very expensive)
Sig currently not available:
Watch Dark Future animated:-
http://www.youtube.com/user/D4rkFuture?feature=mhee
Kup
Autobot Security Chief

Post by Kup »

Sunstorm wrote:nice work Kup! :D

I'm a beginner in the customising stakes.... which spray paints did you use? I'm still struggling to find something that gives me a nice even finish :?
i used revell model paint which I thinned and threw in my paintbrush gun,

the small parts are hand painted in two coats,

i also use tamiya paint

i'll post more pics when i find a straw of time to continiue the project
The past is the greatest teacher
Sunstorm
Nuclear Nemesis

Post by Sunstorm »

Kup wrote: i used revell model paint which I thinned and threw in my paintbrush gun,

the small parts are hand painted in two coats,

i also use tamiya paint